Write about the following topic: The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, work environments tend to be more unstable than ever. Employees, on the other hand, are sceptical about their future in this era of rapid change. In this essay, I will discuss the possible causes for this phenomenon, while trying to propose some valid and reasonable solutions. The main causes of the recent rapid changes in the job market are technological advancements and machine-driven decision-making. With recent advancements mastery is becoming highly demanded in each working sector to maximize efficiency and productivity. Therefore, manual labour is not that significant anymore. This situation is made worse because machine-driven decision-making is being substantially utilized to a point at which it overtakes the human role needed to perform both simple and complex tasks. Thus, there is constant pressure on employees to update their skills, or they will be easily substituted. Good examples include programmers nowadays working in big corporations who seem overwhelmed by noticing their colleagues are easily dismissed. This has been confirmed by a recent study done in Switzerland which showed that the majority of the IT sector is leaning towards freelancing to avoid the uncertainty of the job market. Regarding possible solutions, probably the most immediate short-term solution would be to divert far more government funds into providing workers with comprehensive courses to obtain and reinforce their skills. This would not only reduce the mental burden induced by the ever-changing job demands but would also lower dismissal rates. A further, longer-term solution might be to raise the level of public understanding of the need to focus on recently introduced jobs, especially in the technology sector. A campaign of education along these lines would gradually lessen the detrimental effects expected, especially if reinforced by incentives for developing personal skills, as we see being trialled in the UK at present. Overall, the main problems are both recent developments and the integration of robots in working fields. The possible solutions involve more immediate investment in education and also encouraging long-term changes in career choices.