Some people argue that to make healthy foods like fruits and vegetables more affordable, they should be subsidized by the government. Others believe that it is better to tax unhealthy foods. Discuss both views and give your option.

Nowadays, clean eating is becoming increasingly popular, and there is a debate about whether the government should subsidize organic foods or tax unhealthy foods to stimulate healthy eating. This essay will discuss the reasons behind these two views and demonstrate my opinion. On one hand, some people believe that the government should be responsible for making fresh produce more affordable. This is because budget-friendly food will be an incentive that can encourage more consumption. For example, in China, the authority has introduced community mobile grocery stores in several developed cities, which sell fresh vegetables and fruits at lower-than-average prices every morning. This is widely welcomed by the residents and is continuously popularized in cities that have high food prices. On the other hand, there are also some individuals, who think that imposing a tax on unhealthy foods is more effective. The reason they provide is that if non-basic grocery products are expensive, then people may choose to consume more natural foods. For instance, the Canadian government levies service and sales tax on processed foods such as snacks, prepared foods and so on. Therefore, many Canadian families prefer to buy fresh produce and meat to make their own meals because this is more budget. In my opinion, the above methods are both good, but I think that providing cheaper healthy foods is more reasonable. Imposing a tax on processed food indeed can increase healthful consumption, however, I believe this is disrespectful to food diversity, especially in those countries that have various ethnic groups. Foods that are considered unhealthy by some people might be nourishment for others. In conclusion, despite that taxing junk food is considered an effective way to increase healthy food consumption by some individuals, I personally support the view that the government can encourage more natural food shopping by assisting in lowering grocery prices.