We all work or will work in our jobs with many different kinds of people. In your opinion, what are some important characteristics of a co-worker (someone you work closely with)? Use reasons and specific examples to explain why these characteristics are important.

Having good co-workers makes our professional life meaningful while bad colleagues can make our life miserable. Since people spend a considerable amount of their time in their workplaces, characteristics of their co-workers greatly affect the level of job satisfaction. Friendly behaviour, team spirit, and professionalism are some important qualities that make someone a great colleague. For many reasons, which will be mentioned below the essay. First of all, friendly behaviours of an employee would make things easier for other workers. When someone joins a company, the first thing he looks for among his colleagues is friendly. It would be easy to task if my coworker would be friendly and honest. In addition, he or she must be a good team player. In the modern world, good communication skills and the ability to work in a team are among the common position requirements. Personally, I think it is great to help each other, share new ideas, develop new solutions, etc. It helps to create a team spirit and improve labour productivity. Finally, the professionalism is a quality that drives people to work closely to attain a common goal. They would also advise junior employees and would guide them in difficult times. Having this type of people in the company is extremely beneficial because they usually bring creative ideas and new techniques for the job. In conclusion, it’s important to have good relationships with coworkers to improve the workplace, whereas the bad coworker can cause problems. Good qualities like friendliness, teamwork, proficiency among co-workers could be considered as vital traits which could lead the team to success on the horizon.