Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is without doubt that a person who commits a crime will be locked behind bars. Conversely, some people believe that prison sentences are not effective in many ways. In my opinion, I completely agree with the first argument since it can benefit a whole society. In this essay, I will elaborate on my perspectives regarding this issue. Firstly, incarceration periods can help criminals deter the actions they have committed. Moreover, during their jail time, they are required to do house chores such as cleaning and organizing stuff inside the prison as well as they have to learn basic manners and religious subjects. Therefore, they can have prolonged reflection on what they should and should not do. For instance, a pickpocket gets thrown into jail for two years. Throughout his lockup period, he learned about the religious aspect and how to behave once he's been released. Due to the prison system that forced inmates to acknowledge such things, he felt guilt in his past mistakes and turned away from sinful behavior. Secondly, if a convict is released without any charges, the community would feel worried and anxious in their neighborhood. Hence, as prison sentences existed, social groups would not feel as if there was any threat outside. To illustrate, a serial killer is free out there because there are no prison sentences in this world as a result every person in the surroundings would feel unsafe. In addition, there is a bigger chance that a killer would commit a crime if there is no strict punishment. To summarize, any sentences given to criminals would not determine that they would not do it again in the near future. It depends on every individual's consciousness although sentences are given only to prevent the crime from happening again and make society feel safer.