In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the disadvantages of this situation outweigh the advantages?

In the modern world, it is undeniable that the affordability and availability of fast food are on the increase in many parts of the globe. This essay would make an attempt to shed some light on the pros and cons of this existing situation before drawing a reasoned conclusion that its demerits are far more glaring than its merits. In the first place, the fact that junk food is increasingly affordable and readily available could be beneficial in many aspects. Firstly, the lowered price of convenience food could somewhat entice people into buying it more, which could significantly increase the sales volumes of fast food producing companies. This might result in a higher employment rate in these business entities as more workers would be needed to accommodate such a buying frenzy. Secondly, fast food ubiquity has indirectly granted people, especially workaholics more time to spare. Since it is so commonplace nowadays, people just need to walk down the street to buy some without having to laboriously preparing a whole meal, which could be quite time-consuming. Notwithstanding the seemingly advantageous side of the aforementioned phenomenon, I am convinced that the downside of it is more unequivocal. The key rationale is that the less expensive and prevalent junk food becomes, the higher junk food consumption, which is synonymous with many chronic diseases such as diabetes or obesity. Another knock-on effect is that this practice would make the competition between fast food and wholesome products stiffer. In the long run, these well-meaning enterprises might face bankruptcy as more people are inclined to consume unhealthy food, which must be avoided at any cost for the sake of posterity’s well-being. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the favourable aspects of rising affordability and availability of fast food pale in comparison with their drawbacks for the justifications illustrated above.