It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history rather than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that studying history of their own country, instead of that of the world, is more important to young student. I disagree with this notion for the reasons outlined below. It is understandable why some people put heavy emphasis on children learning about local history. The key rationale is that discovering local historical legacies are adequate, laying foundations for further development of their own country. However, this thinking was only valid in the past when interactions were confined to people whose the same race and ethnicity. In light of rapid globalization, only by having a good grasp of foreign countries' history, may young citizens find it easier to respect cultural differences, which is key to mutual understanding and cooperation among nations. Therefore, it is sensible that schools should incorporate world history into their curriculum. In addition to fostering an appreciation for cultural diversity, teaching schoolchildren about events that took place in other parts of the world can give them a more accurate and fair outlook on what happened in their nation. ON the other hand, learning exclusively about national history could cause an individual to be biased and harbour negative feelings about people from other countries. For example, in Vietnam, students mostly learn about how Vietnam fought against foreign armies such as America or France, which causes many children to develop a distorted thinking that people from these countries are bad. In conclusion, the notion that national history should be prioritized is flawed, and I would argue that learning world history offers far greater benefits to school children.