Many historic buildings are being destroyed or replaced. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to preserve these buildings?

Recently, a great number of historic buildings which should be protected have been demolished. In the following paragraph, the causes would be analysed, and some plausible solution would be suggested. Various determining factors lead to the demolition of historic buildings. One of the main reasons for the destruction of these buildings is that the size of the population became bigger, resulting in the requirement of more living spaces. Nowadays, it is a common phenomenon that replaces old buildings by Skyscrapers or high-rise apartments to earn more space because of the high population density, especially in urban areas. In some cases, historic buildings are also knocked down to cater to the changing of public requirements, such as new constructions of department stores, malls, libraries and parks. The other main reason is that people do not have an awareness of protecting historic buildings. When those buildings were so old that the structure became vulnerable and was not safe to live in, some regions do not have the knowledge to identify the value of those buildings or do not have the professional skill to rebuild the historic buildings. Therefore, those buildings can only be replaced by new constructions. However, to protect our buildings which have historical value, some appropriate measure should be implemented. The government should enact laws about evaluating the value of old buildings and measures to prevent these cultural heritages from destruction, and also allocate enough budget for the renovation project. Besides government efforts, individuals are also responsible for the preservation of historic buildings. Thus, building public awareness of the value of historical sites is important, in which media and school education play a critical role. Since the historic buildings indicate the mark of culture, it is our duty to preserve them. Therefore, individuals and the authorities must have sufficient awareness of the issue with appropriate measures to protect these cultural heritages.