It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. Some people think this will lead to a break down in family relationships and communication. To what extent do you agree?

These days, every person in a family possesses one or other technological device. Many people argue that excessive use of these gadgets has a negative impact on family relations as well as communication. I completely agree with this statement owing to the several reasons which will be discussed in this essay. After the invention of modern digital devices, people have started spending more time in their virtual world. Gone are the days when people used to spend their leisure time with the family. Nowadays, people, especially youngsters, are always glued to their digital screens, which has resulted in reduced communication between children and parents. Spending quality time with each other is very important in the family relations, otherwise family members may start feeling less connected emotionally. This can even lead to a family breakdown, too. Additionally, social media has made this problem even worse. Sharing personal images or videos on these platforms has become common these days. Infect, a few people do not think twice before sharing their intimate information on such social sites. This can sometime lead to a conflict between two family members, who stop one from sharing private information with others. For instance, a leading newspaper recently reported the news of rift between a celebrity couple because the husband was sharing the couple's private picture on his social media account. In conclusion, technology is certainly beneficial in every sphere of life, however, anything which is used in excess is always harmful. There is always a line between 'use' and 'abuse' and people must understand it for the betterment of their family relations.