Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or is it the responsibility of producers to avoid extra over packing products? Give your view or any relevant example with your own experiences.

This is a true fact that over packaging has become a trend of the modern market. In this competitive world, producers are trying to attract consumers with attractive packaging and do not bother about its negative impact on our environment. Today, over packaged products are flooding the markets. It is a waste of resources and leads to environmental damage. It should be the responsibility of the producers to limit the wastage of the resources in the form of unnecessary packaging. There are reasonable arguments in favour of over packaging from the manufacturer. Manufacturers try to attract customer with new styles and colourful packing because customers have the number of options in the market. Over-packaging often shoots up the product’s price significantly. The cost of over packaging is actually added to the product sold. Therefore, less packaging will automatically reduce the cost. For example, McDonald packs their burgers in a paper wrap, then put it in a cardboard container and then hand it to customers in a paper bag. Instead, if they only put it in a box, it will reduce the price of the burger. In some cases manufacturers cover the commodity with multiple layers to keep produce fresh which is for the customer’s benefit. For instance, in some biscuit packs, the biscuits are placed in small plastic tray and covered with multiple layers of packets. This makes sure that the product is intact while sorting and retains its freshness, hence it is sometimes necessary to use over packing. In conclusion, consumers should avoid purchasing over-packaged products to solve the negative effects it possessed to them and to the environment. If customers start avoiding such unnecessary over packing of products, manufacturers would be bound to change the way they are doing the packing nowadays.