Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many of the world's major cities. What are some possible reasons for this problem? What solutions are there to address the growing traffic congestion problem?

In recent years, the problem of traffic congestion has surged in numerous metropolitan cities in the world. This issue has some possible reasons which I will explain further with related examples. As well as I will mention some possible solutions to overcome this development in the following essay. To begin with, there are several reasons that can be considered to support this. First and foremost, the roads are narrow in the most of urban areas compared to its population. For example, a study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that 60% of traffic congestion is happening due to narrow road construction in the cities. Additionally, individuals have to use their vehicles to reach far places for their necessities. To illustrate, one has to drive their car to so many miles to get to the workplace. Thus, increased numbers of vehicles can cause traffic jams on the roadways. However, we can consider essential solutions to address it. The government should build wider roads in the urban areas which can be convenient for people while driving and reduce traffic issues. Moreover, people should prefer to use more public transportation rather than their own vehicles. Apart from that, various campaigns should be organize to spread awareness among individuals which can be helpful to decrease traffic jams. To conclude, poor plans of road construction, having vital places away, and many more are major problems which can grow traffic jams. Whereas, proper roads, usage of general transportation, and vital information spreading can be beneficial for the community to lessen traffic hustles.