Some think that students must travel to another country in order to learn its language and customs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that in order to become immersed in another language and culture it is important to travel to the country in question. I agree generally, though there are certain exceptions depending on the purpose for learning. Those with an academic interest in a given culture often do not need to travel there. This is particularly true if they are researching an historic period. For example, a scholar learning about Ancient Greece going there today, will only see ruins and a radically different culture. Ancient Greek is no longer even spoken. It would be much more profitable for a student of the Ancients to learn the language fluently on their own and become steeped in their histories and classic literature. The works of Euripides, Sophocles and Herodotus will provide far greater insight into the history, culture, and language of the Ancient Greeks than the few vestiges from thousands of years ago still standing today. Nonetheless, cases like the one detailed above are rare and most people will benefit greatly from a more immersive experience. The difference between those studying abroad and learning in their own country is illustrative. Students attempting to learn English, for example, will need to be naturally adept at languages to become fluent without living in an English-speaking country. The majority of learners will improve faster when making daily transactions in English and learning in the real world outside the classroom. The cultural advantages are also self-evident. English movies and TV shows are realistic to varying degrees but pale in comparison to having actual foreign friends and experiencing firsthand their traditions and culture. In conclusion, apart from esoteric academic study, nothing can replace the experience of living in another country. Anyone fully committed to understanding the culture and language of another country must factor in a period of time in residence there.