In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measu

It is important to consider how the developed world’s rising life expectancy will impact both individuals and society. This essay will highlight some of the issues which might arise as a result of this trend and propose some measures that might reduce them. One of the major concerns at an individual level is that as the life expectancy grows, so will the cost of living. This is because more money is required to get by the retirement period, which means that people will have to make extra arrangements to support themselves. For example, for a man who starts working at the age of 20 and retires at 60 but lives for 100 years will have spent only two fifths of his life making money. To combat this problem, the government should raise the age of retirement. In doing so, people will be better prepared to cover the cost of their extended life. As for societies, the most pressing problems is likely to be unemployment. While the retirement age extension might benefit individual level issues, this would create further repercussions of less job opening for the next generation. As a result, young people will struggle finding employment as there will be a delay in positions to become available. This impact of the problem could be lessened by the government investing in new technologies that could help create new jobs. In conclusion, two of the possible concerns that the increase in average life expectancy would cause are financial troubles and joblessness. However, their effect should be reduced if the government increases the retirement age and additionally invests in latest technologies.