Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold different views about whether it is necessary to do vocational courses due to the shortage of skilful employees in certain jobs. While I accept that vocational courses need to be encouraged more, I believe that academic study is also important. On the one hand, there are some reasons why vocational training should be invested. The first reason is that this module of education is in demand in the job market in many societies. To be more specific, since the rapid modernization leading to the development of high-rise buildings, the construction industry requires a large number of qualified workers. Indeed, in many countries, a permanent maintenance staff of skilled tradesmen is employed in hospitals, schools or museums, ensuring the safety of all who use the buildings. Another reason is that there exists a group of pupils who do not have any interest in academic study. Therefore, vocational training should be widely expanded so that they can have alternative choices for future careers. On the other hand, going to university for academic study is also essential for the development of civilization. Firstly, the professional sector such as doctors, nurses, etc, are always needed for human life. These professions require people to have academic diplomas and graduate from university with a major. Furthermore, a bachelor's degree will create more opportunities for office jobs that have higher salaries than manual jobs. In conclusion, while vocational courses need to be encouraged, it seems to me that pursuing an academic career is also a wise option.