In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Compared with the past, mankind nowadays endures much less hardship such as war or famine. However, in many parts of today's world, there are still many people suffering from malnutrition due to the lack of food despite advances in agriculture. This essay will highlight the causes of this problem and suggest some possible solutions. Overpopulation in one country makes a significant contribution to its citizen's starvation. Underdeveloped countries, where most people who suffer from hunger, often have little to no policies for financial support for those who are from deprived backgrounds. With the explosion of population, these countries will struggle even more to meet the people's demand of food. Climate change is another major cause of this issue. The changes in climate will greatly affect seasonal crops such as rice. Rice is the main agricultural product in many Asian countries like Vietnam. Without a successful rice harvest because of a sudden drought, many Vietnamese would be hardly able to feed their family in months. Fortunately, with great efforts, this problem can be addressed with several solutions. On an individual level, people can make changes by raising funds or donating to anti-hunger organizations. In this way, these organizations are able to provide the poor with proper meals every day and basic necessities. In the long term, national authorities should adopt policies which restrict the number of children a family can have to prevent population explosion. Not only will the economy of these countries benefits from the abundant workforce, but each family will also have less pressure of putting food on the table for too many mouths. In conclusion, famine in today's world is mostly caused by overpopulation and environmental problems, particularly climate change. In order to solve this issue, both governments and individuals have to take action on not only short-term solutions but long-term methods as well.