Many youngsters do unpaid work to help their local community,which benefits both themselves and society.Some people believe that all teenagers should thus be required to do unpaid work in their free time. Do you agree or disagree?

Many youths do voluntary service in their native places, which has a symbiotic type of benefits. According to some people, this should be made mandatory that all teens do unpaid jobs in their leisure time. This short essay gives the reasons below, why this statement needs to be disagreed on. The very first reason for the statement to be unacceptable is, that teenagers do free service in their leisure time, that they need leisure time to get recharged for their studies or work. All the scientific studies prove that leisure is an utmost requisite for health and well-being. For instance; doing unpaid work causes fatigue and can lead to stress-related issues for the individual and thus productivity of the individual could be reduced, which,in turn, is a loss to the community and the individual. So, making unpaid service in free time a mandatory thing could be a stupid idea. Another thing is by letting adolescents do volunteer-ships, we are reducing job opportunities. Such practices can be misused by at least some people, which leads to abuse of these teens and a job placement for them could be spoilt. For example, there are a lot of nurses who did unpaid effort in local hospitals for experience, who shared experiences of modern slavery and they had to migrate to other countries. This is a loss to the local community, as it invested a great deal to train them. Hence, one can say that letting young people do unpaid work compulsorily is futile. However, youths in their leisure,who do free service, gain experience in the industry. It can be considered as an add-on when they apply for a job. The community also gets the job done without financial expenditure. For example, many medical schools in the UK demand such performance for admission to the medical schools and for the assignments after the course. Although this is an advantage, one can still say that the idea of volunteering is not a good choice. To conclude, it may be a viable option for adolescents must do unpaid work in their free time, but it has many downfalls because of the above-mentioned reasons. Leisure is for recovery and needs to be fulfilled.