Some people think that illegal internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

It is argued that the music industry is being harmed by illegitimate downloads on the internet, whereas others believe that it barely has any negative impact on performers. This essay agrees that torrenting of music has almost no impact on either musicians or the industry in general. It might be stated by someone that illegal web music downloads can have a negative impact on the music niche. Illegitimate use of songs is considered to be a copyright violation, however, it has almost no impact on either the music industry or musicians themselves, due to many other sources of income. Thus, it is disagreed that musicians’ income may be affected by it in any significant way. Prime examples of artists’ main income sources include but are not limited to live performances, brand partnerships and others. However, many agree that internet downloads do not really affect the music industry in general. Those downloads may in fact affect particular artists, but only in a very insignificant way, therefore it has almost no impact on their art. A wide spectrum of possibilities provides them with a great opportunity to make money. Such income sources as YouTube monetization, streaming, songwriting and many others allow one to feel confident moneywise without being afraid of possible torrent downloads on the web. To sum up, there is no doubt that there might be a chance that a particular song can be torrented on the internet, but generally speaking, it has no significant impact on either a specific artist or the industry overall.