Some people think that economic development is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others argue that economic development is damaging the environment and needs to stop. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is every governments dream to build an economical developed nation. Many believe that economic evolution is the only mean by which world poverty and hunger can be eradicated. Others claim that it has a severe effect on the environment and argue to put a hold on it. This essay will outline both the perspectives before a reasonable opinion is given. Since the last decade, there has been a dramatic rise in world poverty levels. Economists advice, that economic advancement of individual nations is the one stop solution to poverty and hunger. Furthermore, areas like job employment, inequality, stable government and lifestyle of citizens will also enhance as the economy of a country develops. For example, employment will increase with growth of secondary and tertiary sectors. Undoubtedly, economic expansion raises the income of individuals and so reduces the problems of hunger and inequality. On the other hand, economic improvement and ecological biodiversity are opposite to each other. If a country continues economic increase then they will have to cut down the tree. For instance, economic progress just cares about the timber value of a forest and not the flora and fauna. Moreover, this is a serious threat, as the life on earth will extinct and many plants and animal species have already started to reduce. The reason behind these damages is because in an economically developing country the primary sector shifts to secondary sector and tertiary sector. This requires more land and so, forests are cut down. In addition, over the industries and service sectors are constructed, toxic produced cause pollution. Overall, there is a harmful effect to the environment. To conclude, I concede that economic development should be well planned and limited, also an international committee should be introduced to protect and expand the forested land.