There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children which encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks. Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children, while some advertisers claim that they provide useful information to children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that children are influenced by the adverts they see on television, internet, while others hold the view that these advertisements can be a source of knowledge for the young generation. Although they make children aware about some important aspects, still I believe that these adverts are developing the materialistic wants in pupils. Proponents contend that children are considered vulnerable by the promotional companies as they target them while advertising their products, and they got easily swayed away by the misleading adverts. As a result, they pester their parents to buy them those goods, which makes them a part of the throwaway society. For example, Chocos, a cereal selling company, was able to increase its turnover only by telecasting attractive advertisements on kids channels like Disney, Hungama after facing huge losses in the 2015. Therefore, advertisements aimed at the children should not be encouraged as they are making them materialistic. However, people in favour of advertisements argue that they help to increase the children's awareness about different topics and through the medium of educational adverts, they can learn something new. For example, Amul advertised its milk on the television by linking its company with India's rich heritage, and this advert received a huge appreciation from parents and the society as it portrayed their country's culture as a way of promoting their product. Moreover, there are some adverts also, which help pupils to inculcate good habits in themselves like the advert of Colgate company, which motivates children to brush their teeth twice a day. To conclude, in my opinion, adverts do more harm to the children than good by manipulating them to buy their goods and those should be banned by the government.