Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with opinion?

There is an opinion that in order to understand a country ‘s culture, one must be proficient in the language of that country and have spent years in that country. I agree with this viewpoint, however, I understand that there are other factors that influences one ‘s understanding towards certain civilization. To begin with, every part of the country has its own dialect. Needless to say that different languages influence the difference among cultures. Consequently, one cannot fully communicate with the locals in they are not fully aware of the speech. For instance, northern ethnic groups have several synonyms for snow, while, on the other hand, the southern regions have only one word. So, in order to communicate with your native colleagues or neighbours, one must have proficiency in the speech. On the contrary, culture is not just about the language, there is much more to it, such as their traditions and norms. Take an example of the importance of tea in Japanese culture, an individual can invite their colleagues to a tea party and thus, can implement better understanding and respect towards their culture. Consequently, one can teach themselves about specific culture ‘s folk dances and festivals via online research and through the help of guide books. In the end, learning another language could be helpful in better communication, but it still does not fulfil all the requirements, that one need to have greater understanding of one ‘s rituals and traditions. Thus, having good communication skills and traditions known, one can flourish in a particular country.