Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced To what extent do you agree?

Technological advancement in machinery and the evolution of robotics has replaced a number of jobs which were required to be performed by humans. As a result of this development, some people argue that working hours should be reduced and I agree with this argument. Firstly, with a reduction in the number of hours that a person has to work, the quality of life of the worker and his family will improve. What I mean to say is that the workers will have more disposable time, which they can spend with their families, do exercise or maybe gain further education. All in all, this will have a positive impact on the whole family. Secondly, the working hours reduction could prove financially rewarding as well. The individuals will have more time to do a second job or run a parallel business. This will add an additional source of income and benefit the family in increasing household income.  In conclusion, it is evident that the rise of machines whose main objective is to make humans more comfortable, has made it possible to reduce working hours. This additional time can prove to be both emotionally and financially beneficial for workers. Therefore, it is recommended that companies should reduce their working hours.