The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There is not even an iota of doubt that nowadays, all people have become bilingual or multilingual due to cut-throat competition in every sphere of life: education, job and so on. But, English is considered as a most valuable language on the globe due to the development of tourism. Some people, therefore, opine that this trend will make English as a global language to be used everywhere. The upcoming paragraphs will explain the pros and cons of this phenomenon. On the brighter side, there are various benefits of having English as only one global language. Firstly, when all people use English speech, then there will be better understanding among them. Hence, they can exchange their views with each other sans any language barrier. Moreover, this vogue will not only help people to move easily in any non-native nation, but also in settlement over there because they can work anywhere without any specific language restriction. For example, nowadays many people, who dream to move to Quebec, need to speak French, so many masses avoid visiting there. Furthermore, having one single language can revolutionize business because nations will not only be able to share skilled workforce, but also, they can conduct ongoing training of workers in each other’s country to instil special skills among non-native workers. On the darker side, one of the most plausible drawbacks that this development can take a heavy toll on diversity as much language will die out because people will totally abandon them. Thus, the whole world will seem boring without much variation. Apart from this, many cultures, traditions and rituals will take back seat which will remove the identity of many regions as well as nations. Last but not least, it might not be possible that all people will gain same comfort and fluency in the use of one common language as accent vary one language to the other. As a result, the holistic growth of people may face some hurdles. To conclude, it will be a win-win situation for every border or citizen, therefore people had better gain mastery of the English language along with their local dialects, so that they can use any specific language according to the situation.