At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantage?

Many countries have a disproportionate balance of young and old people. While some people believe that having a large population of youngsters are beneficial for the nation others are of the opinion that a right mix of young and old people are essential for maintaining a proper balance. In my opinion, having more youngsters are beneficial to the nation because they can generate fresh ideas and promote growth. There are certainly many benefits associated with having more young people in the society. To begin with, youngsters are full of fresh ideas and are not restrained by traditional beliefs. Large corporations tend to look for locations where there is a large pool of young people who can provide new perspectives and thereby help the company to grow at a faster pace. For instance, India has attracted a lot of big companies who are looking to expand beyond their home base in the last couple of years because India has a sizeable working population. In summary, the younger generations of employees helps to generate new ideas which assist the company and country to grow faster. That said, there are potentially some downsides of having more young people. These youngsters require jobs and communities should be able to generate enough jobs locally. Lack of employment at home would lead to these young people to move out of the country looking for jobs and would cause a brain drain. Consequently, it would potentially threaten the nation’s ability to innovate and attract new investments which can generate jobs. India, in particular, has a lot of citizens working abroad because of the lack of employment opportunities at home. In conclusion, a state success is measured by its economic growth and for economic activity, a state has to rely on young people. On the whole, when we look at the positive changes young people can bring about in a society, it is not hard to see that the advantages of having more young people outweigh the disadvantages.