Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, illegal events have become more prevalent and we should deeply take measures to reduce crimes. I think, although the best way of reducing crime cases is to prolong the prison penalty, the better way of alternatives can be applied. On the one hand, by giving longer prison sentences, we would keep dangerous criminals out of our society for a longer period of time. To be more exact, it would send a clear message to other offenders that the law has become stricter and would not hesitate in punishing other criminals. For example, in Azerbaijan, illegal acts reduced by 15% in the year of 2010 when the court granted life sentences as per the gravity of the crime. As a result, people would have a lower tendency to commit a crime and the laws would be reviewed again. On the other hand, judicial courts should not ignore other ways to decrease illegal acts. Banning consumption of alcohol can also help us in our cause as drunkenness is found to be the primary reason for aggression and rage among people. To be more exact, drunken people are prone to anti-personnel situations when they are not being in themselves. For instance, 30% of criminal incidents happen every year because of the consumption of alcoholic drinks as per police data. Consequently, these measures will help to reduce the rate of crimes and encourage people to pay careful attention to their well-being. In conclusion, I believe even though extending penalty of crimes can be lowered the ratio, reducing the depletion of alcohol and drug make people less tendency to commit a crime.