Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is observed that litter is increasing steadily in the country. In my opinion, this is mainly because of the ignorance of the public and by the government. However, there are some possible measures that the concerned authorities could implement to reduce the amount of waste material produced. First of all, the major reason is that people do not take responsibility for their own country. Most people think that they can easily throw away the trash and get away with it without anyone noticing it. As a result, when the trash accumulates at a particular place, then people are less likely to throw their trash in bins or trash cans. Furthermore, there are not a sufficient number of cans and bins placed to store the litter, and this again encourages the public to throw rubbish anywhere. Take India, for example. It is one of the countries where rubbish and litter is scattered all over the streets. Consequently, this has lead to the spread of more communicable diseases. Hence, these are some of the prime reasons why the trash is accumulating day by day. Although, there a few potential solutions that the government could take to resolve the issue. Firstly, the government should form stricter laws to deter people from throwing away the trash on the streets. Also, the cameras' should be installed on the streets so that the culprits can be caught easily. Secondly, the city council should keep more trash cans in the city. Thirdly, schools should teach children about the harmful effects of rubbish and people should be encouraged to recycle and use environmentally friendly products, such as the use of paper bags instead of polythene bags. Lastly, the concerned authorities should supervise the trash pickers to collect the trash timely. Therefore, if the government and the public take proactive actions, then the planet could be saved. To conclude, while there are many factors that have increased waste materials, the same can be controlled by implementing a few new rules and policies. In this way, people will be able to survive in a healthy environment.