Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Some people think that over the past 30 years, car ownership has risen so speedily that many cities globally are now "one big traffic congestion." In this essay, I will rate the authenticity of this demonstration and suggest solutions for governments for this issue. In my opinion, this statement is totally accurate and reasonable. It is true that nowadays, the number of people owning cars has increased rapidly, which causes traffic jams in big cities. A common problem for city dwellers these days is being stuck in a long line of vehicles for hours during rush hours. For instance, in the U.S., the number of registered vehicles grew by over 29% between 1990 and 2020, from 193 million to 250 million. However, the total lane miles of public roads only increased by about 6% during the same period, leading to increased congestion, particularly in urban areas. Thus, I strongly believe that this statement is true. Traffic congestion is considered an urgent issue in cities, as it negatively affects the performance and overall effectiveness of one's work. I think the governments can apply some measures regarding the reduction of car ownership in order to reduce this tendency. Firstly, it is important for governments to introduce new means of transport that take up less space and release fewer emissions. Public transport is a good example. It has become a fact that the Washington Metro system removes an estimated 800,000 car trips from the roads each day. Without this public transportation option, the city would experience significantly more traffic congestion, especially during peak hours. Moreover, the establishment of policies that limit the number of cars on the road can contribute significantly. A typical case is Singapore, a country that has a limitation for the number of cars moving on the road, which has shown positive impacts on the traffic condition of this country. In conclusion, I argue that the saying mentioned is entirely true, proving that the rising use of cars is a crucial factor that causes traffic jams. There are certain things that the authority can apply with the purpose of solving this trouble, which I have suggested in my essay.