Nowadays, online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people, who lost their jobs because of it.

These days, it is becoming a more common occurrence for people to shop online via their computers or mobile phones, especially in the current COVID-19 pandemic period, where people sometimes have no choice but to shop online at home. This has played a very positive role in protecting the environment, while dealing a fatal blow to high street retail businesses, hence negatively affecting some people’s lives through the consequent redundancies. In this essay, I will discuss these issues or concerns, as well as my views. One of the effects of environmental changes brought by online shopping activities is a positive outcome. Buying goods online using a computer has significantly changed the way we live. For instance, staying at home has notably decreased the usage of both private and public transport, resulting in a considerable reduction of fossil emissions and greenhouse gases; this enables global warming to be controlled more effectively. Furthermore, shopping with a click of computer mouse means that people are less motivated to go outside; which would effectively help to minimise contamination of the environment. For example, plastic bottles and bags would be less likely to be deposited on beaches and rivers, resulting in cleaner waters and a less polluted natural habitat. As such, in recent news, it was reported that dolphins have returned to the river in the city of Venice during the Covid-19 lockdown period. Therefore, shopping online is a positive movement from an environmental point of view. On the other hand, there are problems and concerns regarding online shopping. It brings some drawbacks to the economy and can negatively affect some people’s lives. As we can see, businesses such as independent high street shops and various start-up companies are more vulnerable to insolvency or bankruptcy, due to a reduction of footfall as a direct result of online shopping. The addition to online shopping makes it more difficult to achieve break-even and sustain a profit in order for small or new businesses to survive. This in turn leads to a loss of jobs and businesses and renders many unable to pay for their food and mortgages. Furthermore, it not only affects retail stores, but also the food and entertainment industry, such as restaurants and cinemas, leading to a shrinkage of high street businesses as a whole. It becomes a vicious cycle and challenges the ways of traditional business work. It is those who work in the tertiary sector who are more likely to become unemployed. In conclusion, shopping online could improve the climate by reducing greenhouse gases and contamination. At the same time, it damages current economics, by benefitting large businesses and chain store owners while being detrimental to independent shop owners and workers. It is clear that while online shopping is an ongoing new trend; local authorities and the government should rethink strategies to help society overcome the negative impacts on people’s lives