You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

People often put forward the argument whether technological development has helped people bond with each other, or it has distanced us instead. From my perspective, advancement in technology has led to reduced in person communications and consequently weakened relationships. Considering that, although despite the geographical barriers technology had enhanced connectivity between humans, people are now more engrossed in their screens and forget to have real life conversations with people around them. On one hand, advancement in robotics has solved the issue of connectivity and brought people together through introduction of platforms like Skpe, Instagram, Facebook, etc. For instance, an individual living abroad can conveniently connect with family and update them using these social sites on technical devices. Subsequently, Media fosters convenient ways to communicate with one another. Therefore, computing machines encourage connectivity through media. On the other hand, Technological advancement has been addictive and hence, people spend too much time with their computers and lack interpersonal connections. For example, on an average approximately 40% of Amercians are addicted to their mobile phones and the numbers are likely to go up in the near future. These individuals kill all their spare time on social networking sites or playing games, leaving no room for building physical connections with friends, family and co-workers. Thus, technology is infact proven to be disadvantageous for the society. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that technological development had brought humans together through social media presence, I believe it is a negative development. This is due to the addiction of screens; explaining why people are losing in person connections with loved ones and instead spending their time online relentlessly.