Many people today think that homework is still an important part of school while others think that it is becoming outdated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past, youngsters were doing a large amount of homework as part of their curriculum, whereas nowadays some people assume that is not essential in modern reality. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter. It is true that home assignments have a great deal in a child’s education because exploring a subject on their own, children reinforce the knowledge that was received during a lesson. This is because the human brain is not able to absorb all the information in momentum and needs a frequent repetition of it. For instance, if a student did not fully understand some concept during a lesson, they might figure it out engaging in homework. However, it is possible to make the opposite case. In fact, contemporary school curriculums are very intensive compared with the past. Modern schoolchildren obviously have an information overload and extra home assignments probably will not be useful and may stress them out even more. Meanwhile, every child has to have time for not only learning but also other activities such as sport and hobbies. Thus, the possible knock-on effect can be a drop in academic performances among them. In my opinion, despite the fact that homework is important, it should not be a heavy load. Apparently, the balance between studies and proper rest should be kept. Only this way, the learning process will be energy efficient and effective. In conclusion, both sides have their merits, on balance, however, I believe that homework has to be present as a part of the educational process without being a heavy burden for scholars.