In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, in some countries, young people are emphasized to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. In this essay, we'll discuss about the claim briefly and state it's positives and negatives. In my opinion, it's an efficient technique to pursue higher discipline after a break. Firstly, students who just pass out high school may lack the relevant skills and exposure about the outside world. However, if they tend to take a break and explore the world, they may acquire practical knowledge about the outside world. Moreover, they'll learn to manage things by their own, which is a much needed essential for life. For example, when an individual undergoing a mandatory break for the purpose of enhancing his skills and knowledge may perform better in his academics, once he is into the varsity. Thus, learning new things gives an upper-hand in required times. Secondly, it creates a discontinuity between the schooling and tertiary education. Indeed, the lack of flow and consistency may become a big hurdle for the individual to continue his education. In addition, when a person gets accustomed to exploring places, the mindset and thoughts may vary and it can lead to distraction. Eventually, it will ruin the future of that particular individual. For instance, leaving the regular routine activities for a pro-longed period of time, and focussing on other aspects will have serious consequences. Therefore, the regime must be followed with strict discipline. In conclusion, both the stated notion have their own advantages and disadvantages. Perhaps, it's better to take a break and learn the appropriate things to excel in college discipline.