Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children as good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the aim of education for children should turn them into good employers and locals instead of providing positive impacts for themselves. In my opinion, it would be wrong to the way some people define the responsibilities of school. While model citizens and employees are essential, good personalities and attitudes are the same as important. On the one hand, there are several reasons why institutions should help children to become law-abiding citizens and workers. Admittedly, for the country, good residents and employers can provide higher productivity to the national companies and enhance their efficiency which helps to balance the social development. Additionally, children spend most of their time in school, it will lead them to learn more about the world from school. Therefore, the government will encourage schools to teach them to provide labor force to their country, as even states spend more money to invest in schools. On the other hand, I believe that paying more attention to personal growth is a key factor for a child. Firstly, school should focus on the development of the unique talents and potentials of each student, this can be done through a well-rounded education that includes academic, social, and emotional development. By emphasizing personal growth, schools can create well-rounded individuals who can contribute positively to society. Secondly, school should provide opportunities for self-expressions and creativity to promote individuality, such as competitions and games. It is important for schools to nurture their students and prepare some workshops and guide them to have more passions and interest. As a result, they can become professional people in the future. In conclusion, my views are the role of school as community institutions should not be ignored, as they have potential to shape the community values and stimulate children’s talents.