Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the present era, we are living in a globalized world, where there is a plethora of inventions and discoveries taken place. Technological advancement in the last two decades has made it possible for people to form and maintain long-distance relationships. However, this trend has negatively impacted the way people interact with others in their immediate environment. On the one hand, advancement in technology in many countries, people have the opportunities to use their phones and electronic devices to communicate with others who are far away from each other instead of travelling longer distances in order to meet them. For instance, instant messages, voice and video calls to friends and colleagues are now possible using Skype, Whatsapp and other social networks. Thus, people can connect with each other anytime and maintain their relationships without distance barrier. This was challenging few years ago and it would not have been possible without the improved telecommunication that exist today. On the flip side, this trend has a negative development because people now prefer to communicate using their electronic devices instead of having face-to-face interactions. Thus, friendship between people living in the same neighbourhood is adversely affected. For example, many teenagers and young adults today are busy with their phones and prefer to communicate with strangers on social media rather than discussing with their parents and individuals around them. As a result, many people do not have essential communication skills. In conclusion, technology has enabled people to interact with others despite having distance barrier. Nonetheless, many people are finding it difficult to communicate with those who are closer to them. Therefore, measures towards involving face-to-face interactions should be encouraged.