Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some individuals argue that the most efficient way to tackle global environmental crisis is by increasing fuel prices. Though I agree that it will help solve the problem to some extent, I believe that promoting awareness about eco-friendly alternatives are a far better method to adequately address most environmental problems. On the one hand, by increasing fuel prices, people are forced to resort to public transportation, as not everyone can afford it. This way, the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere can be reduced, since the major contributor to air pollution is the carbon emission from individual vehicles. However, in India, even though fuel prices have increased marginally over the years, people still continue to drive their own vehicles and do not prefer using buses and trains. This is because public transport is often unreliable and inefficient. Therefore, increasing fuel prices alone has not resulted in a significant drop in pollution levels. On the other hand, I believe that a remarkably convenient option to tackle environmental concerns is increasing public awareness about the various methods by which they can contribute to ecological safety. Through presentations, conferences and international summits, people can be educated to adopt environmentally friendly measures. This is highlighted by the “Recycle and Reuse” campaign introduced by the WHO, which promotes the use of paper bags in place of plastic shoppers through educational campaigns conducted all throughout the world. This has resulted in a drastic reduction in the generation of toxic plastic waste universally. Although these measures are taken on an individual scale, their cumulative effect on environmental conservation is undeniable. In conclusion, I am convinced that raising fuel prices might help combat the environmental problems to some degree, yet educating the public about greener alternatives is far more productive.