in many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The debate surrounding the migration of those living in suburbs to cities has sparked considerable controversy. While some assume this notion is beneficial to society, I highly regard it as a negative development due to the reasons this essay further elaborates on. One major drawback of this phenomenon is the rise in major cities ' population. This surge often exacerbates cities ' air pollution due to the greater use of personal vehicles and thus, more toxic gas emissions. Additionally, with more vehicles on the roads, residents suffer from traffic jams and bottlenecks more often. Subsequently, they would experience frustration during pick hours, coupled with lateness to their desired destination, eventually harming people's peace of mind. Take Tehran, the capital city of Iran, as an example; where many people from the countryside moved there, seeking better job vacancies. Meanwhile, the government recorded a significant decline in Tehran's air quality, together with more public complaints of traffic congestion at the time, highlighting the detrimental impacts of their migration. The devastating outcomes of this migration go beyond overpopulation in cities and come to societies' disadvantage by demolishing their cultural heritage. This is mainly because rural people typically hold traditional practices, and with fewer individuals being aware of them, they gradually fade away. In addition, these practices incorporate occupations such as agriculture. With being less practised, the country would experience a drawback in food supplies, the majority of which rely heavily on agricultural operations. Moreover, local markets in the countryside would come into a recession, ultimately upsetting the country's economic status. To illustrate, once individuals from a specific village in France moved to Paris, the governors declared a massive drop in residents' awareness of their ancient ways of life and that with traditional practices being diminished, the country found it hard to provide adequate food resources. To conclude, although some believe this notion brings communities benefits, I subscribe to the fact that, for the most part, it is detrimental to society. In fact, it not only makes people experience a more hectic life but also diminishes the crucial ancient practices that the society takes pride in and economic advantage from.