As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In some developing countries, many people prefer using their own vehicles rather than resorting to public transport. I believe this trend has more demerits than merits as it negatively affects the environment. I shall support my opinion with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, in this modern era, buying a vehicle is affordable by almost every common family. This is because of the varied offers and schemes that are available for the individuals from the bank and vehicle showrooms. Having a car is moreover like a status quo for the families. Also travelling in cars has been always comfortable when compared to public transport. In case of emergencies it is always reliable. For Instance, office workers always prefer to own cars because it is the most convenient mode of transport for them as they can reach their workplace promptly. However, on the other hand, for the past couple of years we have been facing several issues since every other family owns a car, resulting in heavy traffic congestion and increased pollution in the city. For example, air in metropolitan cities like Bangalore, Delhi is highly contaminated and people are recommended to wear masks. This is because of the emission of CO2 from the vehicles, polluting the surroundings and also causing health issues like dust allergy, cancer etc., for the people. Also, cutting trees in order to make new roads have been a rising issue. Although there are world wide protests going on against this, many cities still continue to destroy their surroundings for constructing new roads. This has led to many environmental disasters like landslides, air pollution etc. For Instance, the government in Delhi restricted families from buying more than a single car due to the air pollution caused by excessive traffic. In conclusion, although owning a private vehicle has its merits, it still poses a threat to the environment and the health of a person. Hence it is always advisable to restrict using own vehicles to protect oneself and the habitat.