Some people think having more TV channels is good because they will have more choices. While other people think too many TV channels only lead to a lot of poor quality TV programs. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of TV channels is increasing day by day. Some people argue that it is positive because it allows them to have more options when choosing TV programs, whilst others disagree and think it will result in a lot of low quality TV programs. This essay agrees with the argument that more TV channels offer more choice, and this is beneficial to the audience. This essay will discuss both opinions by giving examples. It is clear that different channels cater to different people with different tastes / preferences. This is to say that the abundant category of TV programs makes it easier for audiences to choose from whatever they are interested in. For example, an Australian media survey shows that the TV satisfaction rate drastically improved by 5 times during the last five years because of the booming variety of programs. Thus, I agree with the argument that more channels offer great benefits to audiences. On the contrary, some people believe that only poor quality TV programs will come out if there is an excess of TV channels and market competition. They opine that in order to grab more eyeballs, they will have to cater to lower taste and create below standard programs. I disagree with this statement because there is not a uniformed standard to judge the quality of TV programs. For instance, according to a Chinese online TV review platform, reality shows, which are relaxing and entertaining, have become extremely popular among young generations; however, the elderly audience always gives negative comments on reality shows. To conclude, the argument that the existence of more TV channels will dilute the quality of programs does not hold water because it is nearly impossible to judge programs using a single parameter. People have different tastes and preferences and when there are more channels everyone will have something to watch.