Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that nowadays the disappearance of some species of flora and fauna is the most vital environmental problems. However, there is a more persuasive argument that other environmental issues are crucial as well because they have direct impact on people’s health and cause difficulties in our normal life. On the one hand, the banishment of specific species of plants and animals can have severe effects on the Earth’s ecosystem. The disappearing states of many species contribute greatly to the loss of biodiversity on this planet, which leads to the damage of the ecological balance. It can also result in more frequent rate of serious natural disasters and far more species to face extinction. In a recent survey conducted by researchers from different universities in Vietnam, the loss of many plants in forests has been affecting some animals’ habitats, which force them to the verge of extinction. It also stated that less number of trees resulting from deforestation can increase the risk of floods and soil erosion, which means that people will have to suffer more from disasters in the near future. On the other hand, there is still a wide range of important environmental problems that we should focus on. For example, there are many types of pollution that have direct impact on people’s health. Air pollution contributed by smoke from industrial areas and exhausted fumes from vehicles on the roads can pose a threat to people who are suffering from breathing diseases. Their health can also be affected if they consume water from contaminated regions. Moreover, greenhouse gas emission is also a serious concern. It is a partial cause of global warming and climate change, which makes the weather far more unpredictable. This will bring great difficulties in manufacturing and our normal life. In conclusion, while it is apparent that the loss of particular kinds of flora and fauna is one of the main ecological issues, it is undeniable that there are far more crucial problems that we need to address to improve our environment state.