According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

It is generally believed that as people spend more and more time on the internet, they become distant from real human beings. This has led some people to argue that instead of opening up new ways of communication, the internet is adversely affecting our social behaviour. Although there are convincing arguments on both sides, I strongly believe that the Internet has a positive effect on our interactions. One argument presented in favour of adverse effect of the Internet is that people become distant from those who are around them. Because of the omnipresence of the Internet, people are always busy with their smartphones, reviewing social media posts of those they hardly know. As a result of this, they have little time to talk to real people. For example, teenagers are particularly fond of spending a great portion of their time on the social media. Consequently, they become emotionally distant from their parents, which harms their relationship in the long run. However, there are many arguments in favour of advantages of communicating through the Internet. Firstly, the Internet has made us socially more active. In other words, we are able to remain in constant touch with many more people. For instance, I have many relatives abroad. Through a family group on Whatsapp, I am able to interact with all of them throughout the day. Secondly, interacting with each other through the Internet is inexpensive. We can talk with friends for hours without worrying about the costs. For example, international calls used to be very expensive in the past. Nowadays, we can make video calls for as long as we want without paying any additional fees. This all has been made possible through the advancement of the Internet. In conclusion, it is abundantly clear that the growth of the Internet has had a positive impact on human interactions. It has become easier and more cost effective to remain in contact with our friends.