As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The expenditure on the road system has become one of the hotly debated topics that divided opinions, due to the increase of the quantity of cars recently. Many people think this is the accountability of the government, while others consider that it is an individual role to pay for it. From my perspective, the government bears responsibility for improving road traffic. On the one hand, the construction of the road system requires a large amount of money which can exceed the government ’s financial capabilities sometimes. So citizens participation plays a crucial role in this process, especially the drivers who primarily benefit from this. Moreover, most people seem to pay more attention to what they spend money on, this could give rise to their awareness about protecting and preserving these facilities, not to damage them. On the other hand, there is no doubt that it is the government ’s responsibility to uphold and enhance the road infrastructure. Because this is not only for the living standards of citizens but also the development of the economy. In fact, roads are key features for facilitating commerce, trade and tourism contributing to the prosperity of the nation, laying the foundation for numerous other fields to develop. Moreover, by using tax for the building and maintenance of streets, the governing bodies could ensure that all individuals could access a safe and convenient transport system. In conclusion, although the government or the driver funding are both important for public facilities, I am of the opinion that the government should cover these issues' budget according to their role and obligation.