More and more people today are becoming overly dependent on the internet and phones. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a great number of people across the globe cannot imagine their lives without mobiles and the Internet. From my perspective, although these technological advances are one of the valuable inventions of the humankind, the excessive dependency on them may be considered as a disadvantage. The main reason for this is that uncontrolled usage of the global net leads to the Internet addiction and a person starts to spend a huge amount of time online forgetting about their duties and the life as a whole. In addition, there are plenty of violent videos and negative information in it, which is constantly bombarding netizens. As a result, many of them may develop depression, and suicidal rates will increase. For example, my younger brother used to binge-watch to the Game of Thrones series and after a while, he had become aggressive and moody. Somebody might argue that these technologies let people stay in touch for 24/7 and communicate instantly with any of remote places on the Earth. However, it may create a false feeling of unity and inclusion into something bigger than a person is. Meanwhile, I think modern people need more quality time with somebody important for them. It should be face-to-face communication without any distraction by social media. To illustrate, being quite into social media myself, I realized that I miss that time when my friends and I did not have mobiles and spent a wonderful time together. In conclusion, being overly dependent on mobile and the Internet connection is a negative tendency because people become media addicted, more depressed and surprisingly, isolated from each other.