Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different opinions about whether learning history is more or less significant than studying science and technology. In my perspective, fields of science or technology are more important than historical subjects. There are two reasons why history is an important area of study in school. Firstly, learning history can assist students in acquiring more comprehensive development of knowledge because they can fully understand the process of each thing. For example, if students want to explore the world of computers, they can learn about the computer origin first, and then follow the development pattern. In this way, students may be more familiar with computers and realise what is the purpose of computers. Secondly, history provides people with a chance to avoid repeating the same mistakes. When people meet a challenge, they have the ability to use the experience that they obtained from history to overcome it in the correct direction. However, I would agree with those who believe scientific stuff is more valuable. Nowadays, our society is filled with advanced technologies, so people need to have enough science and technology knowledge to survive in this modern world. For instance, how to use artificial intelligence techniques has become a necessity. In order to catch up with this competitive environment, students need to gain those abilities. Another reason is that science is an essential subject and it can help students explore deeply the professional domain, such as Computer Science, Electronic Engineering or Medical. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that history is one of the most important subjects, my own view is that science and technology are more valuable than history.