The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

With the advancement in technology, the travelling has become easy and comfortable. The market for cars is growing at the speed of light which is also ruining our surroundings. There are many reasons behind this rise such as accessibility and convenience. However, overuse of these assets can be prevented by limiting the use and improving public transport. To embark with, the foremost reason for the increase in cars is the accessibility and comfort. Personal vehicles can be used at any time and without being dependent on others. People can reach on time at special occasions, comfortably without being disrupted unlike the public transport. For instance, travelling by public transport sometimes causes un-punctuality and irritation. The other prime reason for the increase in cars is the cheap costs of buying them. With the introduction of instalments and leasing options, everyone can purchase the car with a little amount of money. Who would like to miss the comfort of own vehicle when it can be available with the ease? So, The major cause of ample of cars is the comfortability and availability. On the other hand, this situation can be controlled by enacting efficient laws and improved public transit. The government can limit the cars per household and reward individuals for car-pooling. This will motivate people to share rides reaching same destination. To illustrate, working people will tend to travel with colleagues. Improving public transportation can be another significant step to limit cars. With the cheap and frequent bus service, people will prefer public transit, which will eventually reduce the cars and pollution. Overall, providing people with alternative comforts can help to heal the environment. To conclude, the convenience and availability are the main cause of increasing cars which can be prevented by motivating people to follow environment saving practices. Providing people with comfortable and less costly fares will also stable the situation.