Some people believe that humans should be able to use animals for their own benefit, while others argue that the rights of animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A growing number of people think that humans have the right to utilize animals for their own profit, others, in contrast, defend animal rights. In this essay, both views will be approached and I will explain why in my opinion, every specie is essential for the existence of the rest and consequently should be respected and protected. Those who use animals for their own benefit, on the one hand, argue that humans are the most important beings on the planet and everything should be done to improve and secure their survival. Animals, in like manner, are used to investigate treatments to improve medicine and people’s health. For example, surfactant was injected into the lungs of mice, proving its benefits, long before it could be used in newborns to cure respiratory distress caused by the immaturity of the respiratory system. On the other hand, those who think animals should be protected, myself included, believe that nonhuman species are essential for the balance and equilibrium of nature. If mice, for instance, became extinct, many birds would turn into pests and not only ruin the crops but also transmit diseases to humans, making the world inhospitable for us all. In this manner, animals are essential for our survival and should not be harmed, not even with the excuse to improve people’s health. In conclusion, some people say animals should be used for our own benefit as they are less important than humans. I am of the opinion, however, that nonhuman rights should be defended thoroughly because they are essential in maintaining the equilibrium of nature. Every company around the globe should, therefore, consider animal rights before making any decision that could harm them.