Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is common knowledge that famous actors, singers or sports people belong to the groups of people who have the highest income compared to other lines of work including those working in politics. This is because they usually gain global recognition and have multiple sources of income. Personally, I believe this trend is harmful because of the detrimental impacts it has on human conditions and the planet. The universal needing for entertainment and admiration for artistic talents are what propel those who work in the entertainment industry for their success. Humans are wired to seek out beauty, and this coupled with the fact that everyone everywhere in the world has the same need to alleviate stress and be amused, enabling those who possess innate gifts working in the entertainment field to become well-known internationally. This therefore allows them to generate income through a myriad of approaches such as attending events, becoming brand representatives or selling merchandise to their enormous fan base. Politicians, on the other hand, receive government salary to take on the immense responsibility to induce positive changes in society. However, if the financial aspect of their job is not secure, they might be prone to corruption, and in many cases this can lead to severe consequences regarding the environment and human rights to name a few. To illustrate, it is known for a fact that in many places in the world, taking bribes to favour certain powerful and financially resourceful corporations is the norm in the political world. This favouritism means that some businesses are able to find loopholes or get away with the damage they may have caused to the environment as well as people’s health by disobeying environmental guidelines or discharging waste into the ocean. In conclusion, celebrities' immense earnings stem from their worldwide influence, and this is inherently a negative development, and therefore I believe that politicians should be better paid because of their profound influence.