Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Nowadays, more and more medicines and vaccines are being developed. At present, the efficacy and safety of these products are first tested on animals to ensure that they are safe for human consumption. Although many believe the animal use for such purposes is unjustified, others consider animal testing appropriate for the scientific growth. In this essay, I shall argue that the animal testing is justified and present an alternative strategy. There are many arguments in favour of using animals for experiments. First of all, such experiments make new medicines safe for our use. Since most of the contemporary drugs are manufactured from chemicals, there is no reliable way of determining their safety for the human handling; resultantly, animals are used to test the good and the bad effects of these chemicals. For example, skin products, which are in fashion nowadays, can cause serious damage if they are not tested for the skin reactivity. Although animal testing is the best way of producing safe products, there are some alternatives that can be used. For instance, Artificial Intelligence can be employed. Among other sectors, the information technology has also grown tremendously. One benefit of this sector can be development of Artificial Intelligence to predict the effects of different compounds on human body based on historical data. If successful, it could revolutionise the way new drugs and vaccines are tested and approved. In conclusion, it is apparent that in order to ensure that the products for human consumption, which are manufactured in the future, are both safe and effective, the animal testing is justified, and it should continue in future.