Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many opine that newly built houses should match in style older buildings of the same area and that the exterior should be strictly regulated, whereas others believe that, on the contrary, it should be completely up to house owners. This essay will discuss both views and state an opinion that keeping the same architectural style must be obligatory. Many support the view that new buildings should be constructed in somehow the same style as other ones, which were built decades or, in some cases, centuries before. Keeping and building new houses in styles of previous eras, would not only make a particular city look more balanced and without dramatic contrasts but also preserve conventional styles, which is essential for every community. Thus, this essay agrees that the external look of brand-new buildings should be controlled and regulated. The principal example would be Copenhagen, where almost all new buildings are built in one style which matches older and historical buildings. Others believe that the government should allow house owners to determine the style of their estate. People do not like the idea of the authorities dictating to them how their home is supposed to look. This opinion is understandable, however, if nobody cares about the traditional style of the local area, all new buildings will look totally different, which will inevitably affect the entire town/city badly, therefore, the essay does not support this view. To sum up, it is fully understandable that many individuals want to decide the way their home should look, but it is more important that new houses stick to traditional styles in their local communities.