Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals can tackle these problems.

Nowadays, people prefer to move to urban areas more than other parts of the country. This essay will discuss the two main problems of overpopulation, including traffic congestion and poor quality of housing. This discussion will also suggest solutions such as more lanes on roads and infrastructure development. People these days more likeable to move to urban areas which causes overpopulation. The job opportunities available in cities are a plethora whereas it is few to none in rural areas. In addition, lifestyle in urban cities is up to date and have higher quality. These factors have caused overcrowding in urban areas which leads to heavy traffic and bad construction in urban areas. For example, a recent research from Harvard University proves that one in every urban household owns a vehicle and it will be increasing in the upcoming years. The urban area planners did not foresee the traffic problems and have designed with minimum length roads and a lot of buildings have been constructed without leaving room for the future. Overpopulation has made a huge impact in the real estate industry. In order to accommodate large number of residents in a short space high rise buildings are erected in cities not only to reduce the space, but also to give comfort and luxurious lifestyle of living in condominiums. In summary, these above mentioned factors are numerous problems, though it has few positive outcomes. Government and every resident in the downtown plays a vital role in reducing or eradicating these negative impacts. By removing all the drawbacks, there will be peaceful community. Cars provide a faster means of transport, but it is the individual’s duty to use public transport for the benefit of society and oneself. Meanwhile, the government should extend the roadway system so there will be enough space for vehicles to drive as there will be more lanes. The municipality also should take adverse actions on the construction of condominiums instead they must extend urban area’s plan geographically. Extension leads to less population and minimum pollution. For instance, Toronto is one of the populated city in the world. The mayor of the city has passed an amendment on July 19th, 2018, stating no more building permits should be given to construct high rise structures. Therefore, all these beneficial steps in the city building and road lane extension will immensely reduce overpopulation. In conclusion, many problems in urban areas are occurring due to overcrowding. This essay discussed a lot of people moving into the metropolis causes negative effects as an increase in vehicular usage and poor quality of city development. This essay also suggested solutions to these problems are twofold: to add many lanes on roads on both sides and develop urban area infrastructure by constructing residential, commercial structures outside city ’s limit.