Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

A major portion of doctors prefers practicing in major cities where hey can earn more instead of serving rural populations. This essay will discuss the driving factors behind this trend and how the issue can be resolved. To begin with, the primary reason for this is the motivations of doctors after the completion of their studies and trainings. Since doctors have invested significant amounts of money and hard work for years to train themselves, they want a return on their investments, resulting in overcrowding of them in cities and skyrocketing fees. For example, the count of doctors far exceeds in major cities than country sides in almost all parts of India. Finally, governments' inability to provide benefits to hold these doctors in villages fuels the declining number there. Family physicians, for instance, in many developing countries struggle to make ends meet if they choose to serve the poor. To resolve this concern, a change in the moneymaking mindset of these healers is absolutely necessary. If they take up a moral high ground and change their priorities to the service of those in need, this issue can be solved. Moreover, the governments of many developed countries are providing them with systematic supports and tax benefits in order to curb this problem, which in turn helps motivate doctors to dedicate their practice to the needy. To conclude, because of doctors' preference to settle in cities to make money, cities are getting crowded by their clinics while villages lack good medical practitioners. With a change in the thinking process and government incentives, this problem can be effectively dealt with.