Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals contend that, in order to effectively suspend air quality deterioration, days of limited car usage should be introduced, while I align with others who are of the opinion that it is a minor measure, with more promising ways existing there to improve the state of the atmosphere. On the one hand, some justly assert that restricted car driving on some days is effective in terms of air pollution regulation as, if introduced systemically, can reduce toxic fumes and make the population more environment-aware. For instance, allowing some cars to drive on even days and others on uneven, which is the case present in the capital of China, Beijing, assumes that not only vehicles will produce less exhaust fumes and thus cause less damage to the environment, but also more people will opt for public transport in terms of their daily commuting, therefore acquiring new environmentally-friendly habits. On the other hand, likewise opposers of such a view, I am of the opinion that the positive effects of car-free days are inconsistent with the inconvenience it causes. This is due to the fact that restriction of car usage mainly infringes one’s freedom of transportation, and, anyway, many citizens nowadays exploit electric vehicles, which do not produce carbon dioxide detrimental to nature, that is why there is no need to stringently regulate this aspect. At the same time, such measures as regulation of factory emissions and reduction of polluting landfill sites could make a bigger change for air quality improvement due to them being more holistic and these factors’ influence on the atmosphere more deleterious. To sum up, while car-free days may be of benefit for beating air pollution due to a lesser vehicles’ emission of exhaust fumes, their positive effect is quite limited and does not match discomfort it produces, with measures regarding factories and landfill sites regulation seeming more prospective.