With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Demand for energy is ubiquitous these days.Some believe that with increased demand, new regions have to be opened up for access. I completely disagree with this argument and this essay will discuss the reasons for the same. Firstly, the major disadvantage would be to the flora and fauna of the region. This is due to the fact that, industrializing forest will harm the natural habitat. For Instance, the new coal mine in southern part of India which was built in the last decade had a direct impact on the declining local peacock population. As a result of new industries being built in a new region, the local species which are previously considered safe will become endangered. Secondly, the environment will become more polluted which will have a direct effect on global warming. This is because, newly expanded industries will cause more pollution to air, water and land. For example, drilling for oils in the Arctic region has increased the carbon dioxide in the air by 15%. The wastage of all the industry's such as poisonous smoke and the liquid wastes will have to be managed so that it will have less effect on the earth. Alternatively, we can concentrate on renewable green energy sources which is in the best interest of the planet. To recapitulate, because of reasons like impact on the ecosystem and contribution in polluting the environment, I am completely against drilling any more areas to meet the increasing demand, while there are various alternates such as renewable energy sources.