Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many countries have invested a significant amount of time and money for exploring the universe because they believe that, this would lead to the discovery of new minerals or water which might be useful for humans. A section of people considers that investing in space research does not help the society, whereas others are of the view that it would benefit the society. In my opinion, finding out more about the planets, the moon and the sun would not be good if there is no improvement in public services and amenities. Various planets and the moon might contain large deposits of unexplored minerals or water which are very useful for our development. These minerals would be useful in the field of medicine and in the manufacture of high end equipments. However, going to these distant planets requires huge investments in space travel, which require the support of the government. For instance, organisations like NASA and ISRO depend on the government for running their activities. Furthermore, private investment is limited, due to long period required to get back a decent return on investment. Therefore, countries have to set aside a part of their budget in order to fund their space research dreams. Although, the state has to fund their space study dreams, they also have to ensure that, they build facilities which improve the life’s of their citizens. For example, Hospitals and Parks have to be funded by the state and these public amenities would require a significant budget allotment every year. Clearly, Countries have to strike a balance between public spending, which take care of the daily needs of their citizens and their spending in the field of research like space exploration which is a long term commitment. Exploring the universe requires long term support from the government. But the limited funds available should be split between research and to provide better public services. I think that, understanding other planets, the moon and the sun is beneficial, but public services which are necessary for the welfare of the local people should not suffer.